Poker-AI.org

Poker AI and Botting Discussion Forum
It is currently Fri Nov 15, 2019 8:08 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:54 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:46 pm
Posts: 4
Hi,
can poker site find out my true location if i am roaming?
What if I turn off tracking location/gps in the ios? Does it matter?
Can I make a hotspot?
Sorry if offtopic


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 8:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:39 pm
Posts: 600
An app can get https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GSM_Cell_ID and the location of that is known.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 03, 2019 8:45 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:46 pm
Posts: 4
what if i make a hotspot for desktop?

also related to your answer
even if i log in trought a web browser to for example pokerstars?
can they still get it?

thanks a lot


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 7:05 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:39 pm
Posts: 600
bernard wrote:
what if i make a hotspot for desktop?
I can't think of a reason why they couldn't.

bernard wrote:
even if i log in trought a web browser to for example pokerstars?


A browser requests your permission to get location info. If you refuse to supply that the application will know.


Have you considered using a your own vpn running on cheap hardware like raspberry pi?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:47 am 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:46 pm
Posts: 4
No I did not.
Is that actually legit way to overcome problem with vpn on pokerstars?
I should make obfuscation proxy right?
Then just run viscosity on tne main computer?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:39 pm
Posts: 600
bernard wrote:
No I did not.
Is that actually legit way to overcome problem with vpn on pokerstars?
I should make obfuscation proxy right?
Then just run viscosity on tne main computer?


I'm not an expert on this, so the answer is I don't really know. Hopefully somebody else will contribute. I guess an app could detect a vpn client on the same machine, but I doubt if it could detect a vpn client on a wi-fi connected intermediate machine. A browser couldn't detect a properly hidden vpn


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:58 pm 
Offline
New Member

Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2019 6:46 pm
Posts: 4
Alright thanks anyway


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 07, 2019 8:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 9:39 pm
Posts: 600
You could run the vpn client on the router too.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group