Image Image Image




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:42 am 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 136
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: the profitable one
Hello.

Imagine you have a bot which is wining some money. Lets say it is $100-$999 per account.
Not enough to make living from one bot, but running, like, ten account can help.

How to do it easily and with minimum investments? Any suggestions are welcome.
May be there are online services bothers can use? And what architecture of the bot makes it easily expandable?

_________________
Бетономешалка!!! Мешает бетон!!!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:19 pm 
Offline
PokerAI fellow
User avatar

Posts: 1115
Favourite Bot: Johnny #5
$100-$999 in what time period? A day? A month? A year?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 2:59 pm 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 232
Favourite Bot: Poki
I'm guessing month :)


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:00 pm 
Offline
PokerAI fellow
User avatar

Posts: 1115
Favourite Bot: Johnny #5
cow_leecher wrote:
I'm guessing month :)

Hey, the dude could be really really high maintenance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:01 pm 
Offline
PokerAI fellow
User avatar

Posts: 1115
Favourite Bot: Johnny #5
Also, what kind of game(s)?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 3:16 pm 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 136
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: the profitable one
c2008 wrote:
$100-$999 in what time period? A day? A month? A year?

Month

_________________
Бетономешалка!!! Мешает бетон!!!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 4:11 pm 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 136
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: the profitable one
c2008 wrote:
Also, what kind of game(s)?

SNG, but does is matter?

_________________
Бетономешалка!!! Мешает бетон!!!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:01 pm 
Offline
New member
User avatar

Posts: 8
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: Open Holdem
concretemixer wrote:
c2008 wrote:
Also, what kind of game(s)?

SNG, but does is matter?

It does, since different rooms have different SNG's and you'll need change your bot. And you propably don't want to duplicate your bot on the same room/game even at micros.

As for main question, i would buy a powefull server and install several VM's on it. Not realy a big investment, should pay for it self in a month with such bot.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2012 5:02 pm 
Offline
PokerAI fellow
User avatar

Posts: 1115
Favourite Bot: Johnny #5
Well, if you're playing HUL SNGs, it's really limited market.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:55 am 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 134
Favourite Bot: my (incomplete) bot
onemoar wrote:
i would buy a powefull server and install several VM's on it. Not realy a big investment, should pay for it self in a month with such bot.

I could be totally wrong on this but wouldn't that require running headless VM's on the server? You would still need to connect to those VM's from a client wouldn't you? If so it's probably safer to just install the VM's on a regular desktop

_________________
TorChat ID: "irqnpurfeuebdwmd"


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 9:18 am 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 209
Favourite Bot: winnie
Northcroft wrote:
onemoar wrote:
i would buy a powefull server and install several VM's on it. Not realy a big investment, should pay for it self in a month with such bot.

I could be totally wrong on this but wouldn't that require running headless VM's on the server? You would still need to connect to those VM's from a client wouldn't you? If so it's probably safer to just install the VM's on a regular desktop



and all your VMs have the same IP. SO no way to play at the same room without getting busted.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:25 pm 
Offline
Regular member
User avatar

Posts: 55
Favourite Bot: mybot
winnie wrote:
and all your VMs have the same IP. SO no way to play at the same room without getting busted.


If you connect from Russia then poker sites can't see your IP. It's part of the deal between Putin and ROW.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 2:24 pm 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 134
Favourite Bot: my (incomplete) bot
quentince wrote:
If you connect from Russia then poker sites can't see your IP. It's part of the deal between Putin and ROW.
So what is all of Russia just using one public ip and everything inside the country is NAT? Sounds improbable... also whats "ROW"

_________________
TorChat ID: "irqnpurfeuebdwmd"


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 4:04 pm 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 209
Favourite Bot: winnie
Northcroft wrote:
So what is all of Russia just using one public ip and everything inside the country is NAT? Sounds improbable... also whats "ROW"


So Putin is the one and only ISP :theboss


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 5:05 pm 
Offline
PokerAI fellow
User avatar

Posts: 1239
Favourite Bot: my bot
Rest Of World.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 6:38 am 
Offline
New member
User avatar

Posts: 8
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: Open Holdem
Northcroft wrote:
onemoar wrote:
i would buy a powefull server and install several VM's on it. Not realy a big investment, should pay for it self in a month with such bot.

I could be totally wrong on this but wouldn't that require running headless VM's on the server? You would still need to connect to those VM's from a client wouldn't you? If so it's probably safer to just install the VM's on a regular desktop

By server i mean just powerfull machine.

And for running multiple bots on the same room you could use a VPN service. They are about 20$/year.


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:02 am 
Offline
New member
User avatar

Posts: 8
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: Open Holdem
quentince wrote:
winnie wrote:
and all your VMs have the same IP. SO no way to play at the same room without getting busted.


If you connect from Russia then poker sites can't see your IP. It's part of the deal between Putin and ROW.


That's just not true :)


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 3:41 am 
Offline
Senior member
User avatar

Posts: 136
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: the profitable one
15 replies and still nothing useful.

At the moment I have on PC for one bot running. To set up a new one I have to buy new PC, monitor etc. Monitor, keyboard and mouse can be shared using KVM.
Anyway it is not convenient to expand like that. I do not want bot farm to take my living space, and also do not want to rent some office, cause it is just expensive.

I'd prefer some solution which is pure virtual and I could set up new bot without purchasing any brick and mortar things.

_________________
Бетономешалка!!! Мешает бетон!!!


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 5:46 am 
Offline
PokerAI fellow
User avatar

Posts: 1115
Favourite Bot: Johnny #5
Rent dedicated servers?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Question of expansion
PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2012 7:14 am 
Offline
New member
User avatar

Posts: 8
Location: Siberia
Favourite Bot: Open Holdem
concretemixer wrote:
15 replies and still nothing useful.

At the moment I have on PC for one bot running. To set up a new one I have to buy new PC, monitor etc. Monitor, keyboard and mouse can be shared using KVM.
Anyway it is not convenient to expand like that. I do not want bot farm to take my living space, and also do not want to rent some office, cause it is just expensive.

I'd prefer some solution which is pure virtual and I could set up new bot without purchasing any brick and mortar things.


You can look at AWS. Rent a windows server connect to it via RDP. Prices seem reasonable.
http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/pricing/


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: